Defenestrable Reader,

I’m not all to sure how to spell that word, and neither is the internet. Whatever the exact order of those letters, now that you’ve found yourself this side of the window, allow me to regale you somewhat with another blog post.

I have just finished restoring my copy of The British Chronologer, a wonderful little vademecum of history printed as a single edition in 1720. It lists every year between AD 1 and 1720 (although someone has taken offence to the last few years in my copy, and torn them out). Next to each year it givesĀ notable events, be they wars, births, deaths, great storms, or strange occurrences – it’s a rather fascinating remnant that adds a particularly odd early-18th century skew on British history. I’d basically read it cover to cover* before I’d even started repairing it.

DSC_0040 DSC_0046

The new binding may be a little bit of an enigma to any future researchers of its owners, since I had a spare 18th century board I’d got along with a bunch of books I’d bought about two years ago that fitted this Chronologer perfectly. So that is now a part of the new binding, complete with the board’s book plate that never belonged to the Chronologer at all.

*Technically, endpaper to endpaper, since the book when I bought it in fact had no covers.